• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

• Donghoon Shin is one of the outstanding South Korean composers of the younger generation
• has attracted attention particularly for his dynamic and colourful ensemble and orchestral works
• sets up contrapuntal conversations between layers which in turn generate harmonies
• invents startling new colours from imaginative combinations of instruments
• often juxtaposes disparate elements to create new meanings, exploring J.L. Borges’s ideas about intertextuality
• has long admired the emotional charge in the music of Mahler and Berg and pursued a refined modern equivalent
• compositional mentors include Sukhi Kang, George Benjamin, Unsuk Chin, Julian Anderson and Peter Eötvös
• winner of the 2016 Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Prize and 2022 Claudio Abbado Composition Prize
• works performed by leading groups including London Symphony Orchestra, Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic, Helsinki Philharmonic, Ensemble Intercontemporain and Ensemble Recherche
• resident in London since 2014

Works by Donghoon Shin include:
Kafka’s Dream (2018/19) for orchestra [Ricordi]
Double Concerto (2022) for sheng and accordion
New Work (2022) for orchestra

Also visit Donghoon Shin’s website at www.donghoonshin.com.

Shin’s early compositions are published by Ricordi.

Looking Ahead: world premiere of new Cello Concerto [Ricordi] for Bruno Delepelaire and the Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic conducted by Kirill Petrenko (7 May); double concerto for Wu Wei (sheng) and Pascal Contet (accordion) (Nov); new orchestral work for Los Angeles Philharmonic, Seoul Philharmonic and Bamberg Symphony (Mar 2023)

“…moments of trance-like stillness and tumultuous forward motion… the ecstasy, longing and panic of dream states was perfectly caught.”
Daily Telegraph

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications