• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch

Erwin Koch-Raphael works as organ player betweeen 1961-68 , then a period of study in Berlin, gaining a degree in sound engineering in 1976 * At the same time, studies composition with Isang Yun, later takes classes with Iannis Xenakis and Franco Donatoni * In 1979 studies in South Korea * Co-founder of the 'Klangwerkstatt' in the studio for electronics of the Berlin Technical University, of the 'berlin arts company', of the Bremen-based performance group 'ganZeit' and in 1990 of the Bremen Centre for Electro-Acoustic Music (ZeM Bremen) * In 1982 takes a post as teacher of composition and music theory at the Institute for Music Education, Bremen (professor since 1996) * 1991-1992 invitation to reside at the Centre for the Arts and Media Technology, Karlsruhe (scholarship from Siemens) * Several composition awards for his instrumental works (all genres)

Works by Erwin Koch-Raphael include:
Kalte Zeiten (1984) for ensemble
Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 1 (1986/7)
composition no.39 (1988) for flute and chamber ensemble
composition no.46 (1994)for 10-part mixed vocal ensemble or chorus and flute(s) solo

"… His almost unlimited openness for influences of various kinds, such as the Tao Te King or the computer, involves different procedures and sound results: Erwin Koch-Raphael's music is based on mathematical proportions and leaves room for improvisation, it is aggressive and silent" – Marita Emigholz

Also visit the Erwin Koch-Raphael website at www.koch-raphael.de.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications