• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

The music of Olivier Messiaen is represented for rental by Boosey & Hawkes in North America only. His primary publisher is Universal Music Publishing/Durand-Salabert-Eschig. For further information please visit the Durand-Salabert-Eschig website.

Born on December 10, 1908 * Strove to understand the natural order of the world both in nature and in metaphysical terms * Main themes are spirituality in the form of Christianity and ornithology – the study of birds * A harmonist * Musical language characterized by tone color and by rhythm * Studied the rhythms of Indian music * Organist of the Church of the Holy Trinity in Paris from 1930

Works by Olivier Messiaen include:
Quartet for the End of Time (1940) for violin, clarinet, and piano
Vingt Regards sur l'Enfant-Jesus (1944) for piano
Turangalila Symphony (1946-48) for piano, onde Martenot, and orchestra
Le Reveil des oiseaux (1953) for piano and orchestra

Publications of music by Olivier Messiaen are available on sale from our online Music Shop.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications