• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Music Text

Libretto by Paolo Madron with the collaboration of Jetske Mijnssen, based on 'Le avventure di Pinocchio' by C. Collodi; German version by Hanna Francesconi; English version by Benjamin Gordon; Spanish version by Pablo Valdes (I,G,E,S)


2S,M,T,BBar,B,14 child soloists; children's chorus;,D3)/whip/pedal dr/hi-hat/susp.cym/tamb/military dr/3timp/4tom-t/tgl/wdbl; II=cowbell/aeolian chimes/t.bells(F1-G1)/SD/claves(susp)/congas/cyms/glsp/lg parade dr(with cym)/guiro/maracas/4metallophones(SSAB)/susp.cym/ratchet/tamb/tgl/wdbl-pft-strings

Abbreviations (PDF)

For full details on this stagework, including synopsis and roles, please visit our Opera section.


This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World premiere of version
Komische Oper, Berlin
Jetske Mijnssen, director / Ensemble Komische Oper / Anna-Sophie Brüning
Press Quotes

“A story of fables and animals comes to life…” Märkische Allgemeine

“The Italian composer retells the famous classical story by Carlo Collodi in an entirely fresh fashion, with 57 child actors and five adult roles. Framed by a velvety blue stage, the wooden puppet … experiences, in the truest sense of the word, utterly beautiful adventures… The individual, short scenes enable even smaller children to get involved in the story… The staging never aims for a cheap laugh and avoids sentimentality… Cheerful, totally free of false pathos…” Mitteldeutsche Zeitung

“The production was an immediate success with the audience (10 minutes of cheers, applause and stamping of feet at the end)… In his gentle music Valtinoni follows a little the great masters of musical fairy tales: there is much of Maurice Ravel in the sparkling piano introduction played against the pizzicato strings and in the brass solos, both sad and beautiful. This music, however, is simpler and more direct, slightly leaning towards Puccini and Bernstein…” Berliner Zeitung



Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications