• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Abbreviations (PDF)



This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Israel Sinfonietta / Mendi Rodan
Composer's Notes

Not many works have been written in which an attempt is made to combine Eastern and Western cultures, and featuring Jewish musical tradition – the traditional music as it was sung and played by the different communities, and as crystallized in the Western musical traditions of Central Europe. Israeli music has tried to present a kind of cultural encounter in the fifties and sixties of the 20th century combining original Jewish musical elements with musical forms borrows from theclassical tradition. The Sinfonietta is written in the traditional classical style of the Symphony, with four movements, each based on folkloric material from different Jewish communities.
1st movement: Adagio, Allegro – based on three Yemenite Melodies
2nd movement: Variations on Sephardic Themes
3rd movement: Scherzo – based on ‘Klezmerim Waltz’
4th movement: Finale – based on traditional melody of Persian Jewry

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications