• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes


World Premiere
Town Hall, Wollongong
Australian Chamber Orchestra / Richard Tognetti
Composer's Notes

Stride draws inspiration from Ludwig van Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor, Op. 13, commonly known as Sonata Pathétique, which is in three movements:

I. Grave – Allegro di molto e con brio
II. Adagio cantabile
III. Rondo: Allegro

I chose a few melodic, rhythmic and harmonic fragments from each movement (exhibited as an appendix to the score) and developed these in the three corresponding sections of Stride. The title is derived from the octave leaps that stride in the left hand in first movement of Sonata Pathétique. I was immediately drawn to the driving energy of this bass movement and have used it as a tool to propel Stride.

Press Quotes

“Clyne plunders recognisable gestures from the Beethoven and bends them, chameleon-like, into an array of moods from mad waltzes to chanting cries and stabbing strings à la Bernard Herrmann. It’s a wild ride of a piece, full of humour and virtuosity, and a clever link back to the music celebrated in this anniversary concert.” —Limelight Magazine

“It held the attention of the audience with clever, accessible invention, and plenty of excitement.” —JWire



Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications