• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.
World Premiere
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
Martin Fröst, clarinet / Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra / Jaap van Zweden
Composer's Notes

Weathered is set in five 5-minute movements, each one exploring a different weathered element: Metal, Heart, Stone, Wood, and Earth. These weathered elements are both beautiful and poignant; a rusted bridge, a broken heart, a wind-worn castle, a majestic forest, and a warming planet. Weathered also touches on our collective global experiences of the COVID pandemic and the alarm of global warming.

— Anna Clyne

Press Quotes

"Rarely have I heard a contemporary composition with such melodic content as this concert. A start that immediately transports your ears into the speed of the music is a surprise in itself... Very exciting to listen to and to see."
Opera Magazine

"For the special sound combinations that are hidden in an orchestra, Clyne has a fine nose."
De Volkskrant

"The writing for the soloist and theorchestra is strikingly vivid and colourful, from the opening moments, with their sombre, plainchant-like references, to the end of the finale almost half an hour later when the plainchant returns to usher in the quiet, desolate close."
The Guardian


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications