• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)



This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski for the UK, British Commonwealth (excluding Canada), Republic of Ireland, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Netherlands, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Turkey, Israel.


World Premiere
Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra / Igor Blazhkov
Programme Note
Repertoire Note

Shostakovich wrote these five tiny orchestral sketches in a single day, on June 9th 1935. At the time he was planning his gigantic 4th Symphony and these haunting and fragile Fragments reflect the bleak and tragic sound world that he was intending to explore in his new symphony. Each movement concentrates on a different combination of instruments and inhabits its own highly defined sound-world.

Among the most mysterious and least known of Shostakovich’s orchestral works, these little-known and rarely played pieces make an ideal foil to the grandeur and scale of the more well-known symphonies.

Note by Gerard McBurney

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications