• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

English Deutsch
Music Text

Hugo von Hofmannsthal (G)


bar-string quartet-3(III=afl).2.corA.2.bcl.2.dbn-

Abbreviations (PDF)



This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Opernhaus, Bonn
Reinhild Hoffmann, director
Conductor: Dirk Kaftan
Company: Holger Falk, baritone / Beethoven Orchester Bonn

Repertoire Note

A Letter for baritone, string quartet and orchestra is based on fragments from Hugo von Hofmannsthal’s text of the same title: In this powerful prose work, also known as “Chandos-Brief” (The Letter of Lord Chandos), Hofmannsthal gave artistic expression to his scepticism about language in 1902. Trojahn’s ‘Reflective Scena’, as the work is subtitled, represents the composer’s “answer” to Beethoven’s “Heiligenstadt Testament” – both texts reflect a life crisis that shakes creative work and at the same time is overcome by writing. Trojahn’s composition was commissioned by Bonn Opera and was premiered there in 2020, in a staged production together with Beethoven’s Christ on the Mount of Olives.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications