• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo, conductor
Kari Kriikku, clarinet

Brilliantly extrovert and entertaining piece from the Finnish composer, requiring the clarinettist (the astonishing Kari Kriikku, for whom it was written) to take on a fluttering solo line full of multiphonics and other special effects. A giddy 25-minute flight through an enchanted forest of bewitching sounds.
Neil Fisher and Richard Morrison, Times Online, November 21, 2009, The ten best classical albums of the Noughties: fifth position

The concerto is alive and well and flourishing in Northern Europe, especially given Kari Kriikku's breathtaking virtuosity.
Guy Rickards, 2006 Classic FM Gramophone Award, Best Contemporary

Apart from Kari Kriikku's stunning playing in the Concerto, there's a dazzling kaleidoscope of colour from Oramo and the orchestra, in music that's completely up to date without losing touch with traditional forms.
Martin Cotton, 2006 BBC Music Magazine Award, Best Première

The excellent clarinetist Kari Kriikku, remarkably accompanied by Sakari Oramo and the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, shows a breathtaking facility when playing with the challenges of this magnificent music.
Patrick Szersnovicz, Le Monde de la Musique, Choc de l'année 2005

BBC Radio 3, CD Review Critics' Choice 2005, Listeners' Discs of the Year 2005

Here's a wonderful trio of pieces by one of Finland's finest contemporary composers. (...) the performance couldn't be bettered.
Guy Rickards, The Gramophone, October 2005, Editor's Choice

Served by the sumptuous and inspired clarinet performance of Kari Kriiku, (...) this concerto appears to be a total masterpiece. (...) Maybe the contemporary music is not in such a bad shape...
Stéphan Vincent-Lancrin, Classica-Repertoire, December 2005/January 2006, Evénements CD, R10

There are also gems like this one, waiting to be discovered, proving conclusively that Classical Music is not dead, and may even (...) be thriving. (...) All of the performances under Sakari Oramo are just plain stunning, and so is the sound. What a terrific disc!
David Hurwitz, ClassicsToday.com, November 2005, Disc of the Month, Artistic Quality 10/10 Sound Quality

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications