• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

In 1925, at the end of his years at the St Petersburg Conservatory, the 18-year-old Dmitri Shostakovich presented Symphony No.1 in F minor, op.10, as the final work of his studies. This remarkable composition not only showcased his compositional maturity but also unveiled his distinctive tonal language. Such renowned conductors as Bruno Walter, Leopold Stokowski, and Arturo Toscanini were immediately impressed by its quality. The symphony quickly gained recognition, with numerous performances in Europe and the USA securing its place in the symphonic repertoire.

This volume is part of the revised and corrected new edition of all 15 symphonies by Dmitri Shostakovich published by Boosey & Hawkes and Sikorski as large format study scores for optimal legibility. All scores and the related orchestral parts have been newly computer typeset, and the orchestral parts are also compatible for performance use with scores in ‘The New Collected Works of Dmitri Shostakovich’.

Click below to view music sample pages

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications