• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Programme Note

Comprised of six short movements each with a title "to aid the public in understanding what I had in mind when writing the movements." Titled Military, Cryptic, Dogmatic, Subjective, Jingo, and Prophetic, the movements are occasionally performed individually or in groups. In fact, only the last two were played for the premiere. Statements was not heard in its entirety until 1942. In a review, Virgil Thomson wrote, "They are clearly written and very, very personal. The whole group is a manly bouquet, fresh and sweet and sincere and frank and straightforward."

-Vivian Perlis, 1998

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications